Faculty Awards and Honors

Professor Emeritus Nathaniel Mackey

2010 Guggenheim Fellowship for Poetry

2008 Stephen Henderson Award, African American Literature and Culture Society of the American Literature Association

2007 Roy Harvey Pearce/Archive for New Poetry Prize, Archive for New Poetry at UCSD

2007 Northern California Book Award in Poetry for Splay Anthem

2007 Individual Artist's Grant in Poetry, Foundation for Contemporary Arts

2006 National Book Award in Poetry for Splay Anthem

Professor Micah Perks

2008 National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Creative Writing Fellowship
The Captivity And Restoration Of Mary Rowlandson, My Mother And Me

Associate Professor Micah Perks and Professor Georges Van Den Abbeele

National Endowment for the Arts - Access to Artistic Excellence
The Big Read - Celebration of Central Coast Poet Robinson Jeffers

Professor Rob Wilson

2009 Choice magazine's Outstanding Academic Title for Be Always Converting, Be Always Converted: An American Poetics


Professor Emerita Karen Tei Yamashita

2011 United States Artists Fellowship Grant

2011 California Book Award Gold Medal in Fiction for I Hotel

2011 Asian/Pacific American Literature Award for Adult Fiction for I Hotel

2010 Nominated for National Book Award in Fiction for I Hotel


Lecturer Gary Young

2010 Santa Cruz County Poet Laureate

2009 Shelley Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America